about-us header

Our team

Perfection through passion

Welcome to Eddycam

A handful of committed, competent employees and two highly specialized companies

Our elk leather processor and supplier in Finland as well as a small Bavarian manufactory that processes handpicked raw materials and components according to our specifications into exclusive camera straps.

EDDYCAM – that's Edlef Wienen, too: an experienced photo merchant, enthusiastic photographer, recognized specialist for system cameras and grown up with the world of photography since early childhood. He not only gave the brand his name, but is also considered the inventor of the elk leather camera strap.

eddycam production

about-us-image-secondary

The idea behind the belt

Inspired by exclusive bags and fashionable accessories made from elk leather

The knowledge of the needs of the most demanding photographers and the passion for exceptionally beautiful, durable natural products motivated Edlef Wienen to develop a new, absolutely reliable camera strap. Inspired by exclusive bags and fashionable accessories made from elk leather, Wienen decided to also use this high-quality natural material for camera straps.

This is how EDDYCAM came about from decades of experience, the finest Scandinavian elk leather, high-quality components made in Germany and a lot of passion: the uniquely comfortable, robust camera strap with an unmistakable look - the quality-conscious photographer accompanies you thick and thin. A life long.

workshop-bg-2

Real passion for aesthetics and nature

The art of craft

The creation of our moose leather belts does not begin with the actual production in Germany, but much earlier - somewhere in the Scandinavian coniferous forest zone. Because this is where the moose live, on whose leather the high quality of EDDYCAM is based.

The elk leather is tanned and dyed in a small Finnish tannery and then sent to our factory in Bavaria for further processing. This is where the cutting, gluing and sewing as well as the application of the components takes place - everything with great care and, as befits an exclusive natural product, mostly by hand.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Details matter!

8-step EDDYCAM workflow

workflow-image-1
Step 1
storage and sorting

The raw elk skins are first preserved in salt or by drying and stored in cold rooms. This is where the first quality control and sorting takes place.

workflow-image-2
Soaking, liming and deburring

Soaking cleans the skins of dirt and salt. During liming, sulfur compounds and lime loosen the hair and finally tissue residues are mechanically removed from the skin.

Step 2
workflow-image-3
Step 3
Splits

In order to obtain an evenly thick upper leather, it is separated horizontally as a grain split from the so-called core split and flesh split.

workflow-image-4
Step 4
Pickling, tanning and neutralizing

Curing prepares the hides for actual tanning. The tanning agents, mostly chromium salts in elk skins, penetrate the skin, transform it into leather and are then neutralized.

workflow-image-5
Wither, sort and fold

The wet leather is first drained, sorted again after a further quality control, the thickness is equalized further during folding and unevenness is removed.

Step 5
workflow-image-6
Step 6
Colouring, filling and fattening

Depending on the desired surface appearance, the leather is dyed and filled with different dyes. Targeted greasing makes the leather soft.

workflow-image-7
Step 7
Drying and Stollen

The leather is either dried in a vacuum, hanging freely or stretched on a frame in drying ovens and then further softened with fulling machines.

workflow-image-8
Adjust and check

Now the leather gets its final color and structure. The desired look is created by a special surface treatment, repeated dyeing, ironing or ironing. After a final quality control and measurement, the leather is shipped.

Step 8
previous arrow
next arrow
Shadow
comfort

comfort

Elk leather is a high-quality natural product and is not only one of the thickest, but also one of the finest leathers in the world. It gets its incomparable elasticity from the special processing in a Finnish tannery that specializes in elk leather.

The soft, skin-friendly surface, the ergonomic shape of the straps, a stepless length adjustment and the solvent-free padding made of pure natural rubber ensure that EDDYCAM neither pulls nor presses. Not on the neck, not on the shoulder - not even after wearing it for hours.

load-bearing capacity

EDDYCAM owes its extreme resilience primarily to the solid workmanship and the resilience of the elk leather and all other product components.

Whether 5-way connecting straps sewn with a special thread (with a tensile strength of 4700 N), unbreakable stainless steel clamps for length adjustment or connecting elements made of robust PP material - only the consistently high quality of all components ensures the enormous resilience of the camera straps. And makes them almost indestructible – even under the toughest climatic and operating conditions. We give a two-year guarantee on this.

individuality-about

Individuality

Every EDDYCAM is unique. Because every piece of elk leather tells its own story. Small scratches are evidence of previous injuries to the animal, bruises from turf wars and tiny scars from insect bites.
And because EDDYCAM was developed for individualists with very different preferences and needs, we offer the belts in over 100 designs
in 6 widths, suitable for all camera models.

eddy cam about us

Because there is nothing better for camera straps

Elk leather

Elk leather is the perfect leather for camera straps: up to 1,8-2,0 mm thick, extremely durable and breathable. At the same time unbeatably soft and pleasantly cuddly and warming in direct contact with the skin. The leather we use comes exclusively from Scandinavia, where wild elk are hunted in limited numbers in a strictly controlled manner, mainly for their meat. The hunting season begins with the arctic winter, when the animals' skin is at its thickest. Our Finnish partner selects only the best hides for further processing.

Cart

about-us-header

Über uns

Perfektion durch Leidenschaft

Willkommen bei Eddycam

Eine Handvoll engagierter, kompetenter Mitarbeiter und zwei hochspezialisierte Unternehmen

Unser Elchlederverarbeiter und -lieferant in Finnland sowie eine kleine bayerische Manufaktur, die handverlesene Rohstoffe und Komponenten nach unseren Vorgaben zu exklusiven Kameragurten verarbeitet.

EDDYCAM – that’s Edlef Wienen, too: an experienced photo merchant, enthusiastic photographer, recognized specialist for system cameras and grown up with the world of photography since early childhood. He not only gave the brand his name, but is also considered the inventor of the elk leather camera strap.

eddycam production

about-us-image-secondary

Die Idee hinter dem Gürtel

Inspiriert von exklusiven Taschen und modischen Accessoires aus Elchleder

Das Wissen um die Bedürfnisse anspruchsvollster Fotografen und die Leidenschaft für außergewöhnlich schöne, langlebige Naturprodukte motivierten Edlef Wienen, einen neuen, absolut zuverlässigen Kameragurt zu entwickeln. Inspiriert von exklusiven Taschen und modischen Accessoires aus Elchleder entschied sich Wienen, dieses hochwertige Naturmaterial auch für Kameragurte zu verwenden.

So entstand aus jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung, feinstem skandinavischem Elchleder, hochwertigen Komponenten made in Germany und mit viel Herzblut EDDYCAM: der einzigartig bequeme, robuste Kameragurt mit unverwechselbarer Optik – der qualitätsbewusste Fotograf begleitet Sie dabei dick und dünn. Ein Leben lang.

workshop-bg-2

Echte Leidenschaft für Ästhetik und Natur

Die Kunst des Handwerks

Die Entstehung unserer Elchledergürtel beginnt nicht erst mit der eigentlichen Produktion in Deutschland, sondern viel früher – irgendwo in der skandinavischen Nadelwaldzone. Denn hier leben die Elche, auf deren Leder die hohe Qualität von EDDYCAM basiert.

Das Elchleder wird in einer kleinen finnischen Gerberei gegerbt und gefärbt und anschließend zur Weiterverarbeitung an unsere Manufaktur in Bayern geschickt. Hier erfolgt das Zuschneiden, Kleben und Nähen sowie das Aufbringen der Komponenten – alles mit großer Sorgfalt und, wie es sich für ein exklusives Naturprodukt gehört, größtenteils in Handarbeit.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Auf Details kommt es an!

8-stufiger EDDYCAM-Workflow

workflow-image-1
Step 1
Lagerung und Sortierung

Die rohen Elchhäute werden zunächst in Salz oder durch Trocknen konserviert und in Kühlräumen gelagert. Hier findet die erste Qualitätskontrolle und Sortierung statt.

workflow-image-2
Weichen, Äschern und Entgraten

Beim Einweichen werden die Häute von Schmutz und Salz gereinigt. Beim Äschern lösen Schwefelverbindungen und Kalk das Haar und schließlich werden Gewebereste mechanisch von der Haut entfernt.

Step 2
workflow-image-3
Step 3
Teilt

Um ein gleichmäßig dickes Oberleder zu erhalten, wird es horizontal als Narbenspalt vom sogenannten Kernspalt und Fleischspalt getrennt.

workflow-image-4
Step 4
Beizen, Gerben und Neutralisieren

Durch das Pökeln werden die Häute für die eigentliche Gerbung vorbereitet. Die Gerbstoffe, meist Chromsalze in Elchfellen, dringen in die Haut ein, verwandeln sie in Leder und werden dann neutralisiert.

workflow-image-5
Welken, sortieren und falten

Das nasse Leder wird zunächst entwässert, nach einer weiteren Qualitätskontrolle erneut sortiert, beim Falten weiter in der Dicke egalisiert und von Unebenheiten befreit.

Step 5
workflow-image-6
Step 6
Färben, Füllen und Fetten

Je nach gewünschter Oberflächenoptik werden die Leder gefärbt und mit unterschiedlichen Farbstoffen gefüllt. Gezieltes Nachfetten macht das Leder weich.

workflow-image-7
Step 7
Trocknen und Stollen

Das Leder wird entweder im Vakuum, frei hängend oder in Trockenöfen auf ein Gestell gespannt getrocknet und anschließend mit Walkmaschinen weiter aufgeweicht.

workflow-image-8
Anpassen und prüfen

Nun erhält das Leder seine endgültige Farbe und Struktur. Durch eine spezielle Oberflächenbehandlung, mehrmaliges Färben, Bügeln oder Bügeln entsteht die gewünschte Optik. Nach einer abschließenden Qualitätskontrolle und Vermessung wird das Leder versendet.

Step 8
previous arrow
next arrow
Shadow
comfort

Kompfort

Elchleder ist ein hochwertiges Naturprodukt und zählt nicht nur zu den dicksten, sondern auch zu den feinsten Ledern der Welt. Seine unvergleichliche Elastizität erhält es durch die spezielle Verarbeitung in einer auf Elchleder spezialisierten finnischen Gerberei.

Die weiche, hautfreundliche Oberfläche, die ergonomische Form der Gurte, eine stufenlose Längenverstellung und die lösungsmittelfrei aufgeklebte Polsterung aus reinem Naturkautschuk sorgen dafür, dass EDDYCAM weder zieht noch drückt. Nicht im Nacken, nicht auf der Schulter – auch nicht nach stundenlangem Tragen.

Belastbarkeit

Seine extreme Widerstandsfähigkeit verdankt EDDYCAM vor allem der soliden Verarbeitung und der Widerstandsfähigkeit des Elchleders und aller anderen Produktkomponenten.

Ob mit Spezialfaden vernähte 5-fach Verbindungsbänder (mit einer Zugfestigkeit von 4700 N), bruchsichere Edelstahlschellen zur Längenanpassung oder Verbindungselemente aus robustem PP-Material – nur die gleichbleibend hohe Qualität aller Komponenten gewährleistet die enorme Belastbarkeit der Kameragurte. Und macht sie nahezu unverwüstlich – auch unter härtesten Klima- und Einsatzbedingungen. Darauf geben wir zwei Jahre Garantie.

individuality-about

Individualität

Jede EDDYCAM ist einzigartig. Denn jedes Stück Elchleder erzählt seine eigene Geschichte. Kleine Kratzer zeugen von vorangegangenen Verletzungen des Tieres, Druckstellen von Revierkämpfen und winzige Narben von Insektenstichen.
Und weil EDDYCAM für Individualisten mit ganz unterschiedlichen Vorlieben und Bedürfnissen entwickelt wurde, bieten wir die Gürtel in über 100 Designs an
in 6 Breiten, passend für alle Kameramodelle.

eddy cam about us

Denn für Kameragurte gibt es nichts Besseres

Elchleder

Elchleder ist das perfekte Leder für Kameragurte: bis zu 1,8-2,0 mm dick, extrem strapazierfähig und atmungsaktiv. Gleichzeitig unübertroffen weich und angenehm anschmiegsam und wärmend im direkten Kontakt mit der Haut. Das von uns verwendete Leder stammt ausschließlich aus Skandinavien, wo wilde Elche in begrenzter Anzahl streng kontrolliert gejagt werden, hauptsächlich wegen ihres Fleisches. Die Jagdsaison beginnt mit dem arktischen Winter, wenn die Haut der Tiere am dicksten ist. Unser finnischer Partner wählt nur die besten Häute für die Weiterverarbeitung aus.

Warenkorb